+377 97 70 74 72[08:30 - 17:45]

Leigh, East Sussex, England

Leigh and Tash live in a large, detached house in the lovely village Ditchling. It is in the Sussex countryside, only 10 minutes from the city of Brighton by car or train. Brighton is a cosmopolitan, modern city next to the sea. They live with Tash's son Harry, who is 19, and their labrador dog and cat.

Your hosts

Leigh

I perform with various musical groups/bands in theatres and venues around the UK. I like to travel, socialise and go for walks with our dog Blue. I also love sports and am a member of a sports club where I go swimming and use the gym. I like to cook and learn about cuisine from around the world.

Tash

Tash is a preschool teacher, teaching and looking after young children in the afternoons. She loves to cook, and have people stay and learn in her warm, comfortable home.

We are happy to accommodate vegetarians, vegans and anyone with specific dietary needs. We always cook fresh food, using fresh ingredients.

Your teacher

I have spent the last 10 years teaching in both the UK , and abroad. The first 5 years were spent teaching at schools in Brighton, and for the last 5 years have been a homestay tutor. I am also a professional musician and prior to my teaching years,  worked on cruise ships and theatres and toured all over the world as a performer. I like to teach using a combination of text books, online resources and audio /visual applications. I am a Celta Cert (Cambridge) qualified teacher , and also have a music diploma. I am able to teach general English, exam preparation, business English and aviation language. We love hosting and having people stay, and find it is a great learning experience for all involved.

The home

Our house is a lovely, large detached property with a large garden surrounding it. It is very quiet so a perfect environment for learning and study. When people have stayed, they have always said they have felt like it is a ‘ Home away from home’ When the sun is out during the summer months, I like to give lessons in the garden. We have a double bedroom available, and also a single smaller bedroom. There’s enough space for a small family between the 2 rooms. Bedding and towels would be available , and there is a television in the larger bedroom. A private bathroom can be made available by request. Smokers can smoke in the garden. There is full Wifi in the house.

Things to do

There are many things to do in this area and places to see. The village itself is a historic place of interest, with museums and occasional arts events. There are lots of lovely country lanes to walk or cycle, also pubs, cafes and shops. A ten minute journey takes you to Brighton, and in the city there are many things to do. There is the famous Royal Brighton Pavilion and museum, and it’s lovely gardens. The city centre is great for shopping, and there are many places to eat and relax.

The city is by the sea, and in the summer months the beach is very busy and buzzing with excitement. The market town of Lewes with its castle is 8 minutes from the house. There are also small historic villages and towns all within a 30 minute radius. If you are keen on sports, volleyball, kite surfing, table tennis, gym and swimming are all nearby.

Local amenities

Swimming, Cycle Hire, Horse Riding, Gym, Sports Centre, Museums, Art Galleries, Cinemas.

Check their availability

Interested in learning in this home? Send them a quick little message to find out if they are free for the dates you have in mind!