Daphne, Edinburgh, Scotland

Daphne and her husband Russ live in 19th Century semi-detached stone house with their 2 adopted guide dogs.

Your teacher

Daphne has a university degree; TEFL certificate; was a practising state registered nurse and has brought up 3 children. Daphne enjoys making her lessons stimulating and fun by using varied and interesting resources tailored to individual needs. She has been hosting foreign students for many years, from children, as young as 5, to teenagers and adults; beginners to advanced. Her approach to teaching English as a Foreign Language is methodical, creative and enthusiastic. She is happy to teach both adults and young people, however children under 16 should be accompanied by a parent. She has taught both partially sighted people and those with hearing difficulties.

Your hosts

Daphne lives with her husband Russ who is now retired. They have five grown up children between them. None of the extended family members live at home but they occasionally visit and you may be lucky enough to meet some of them. You will definitely meet some of their friends as they often have people round for a meal. They have 2 adopted guide dogs and occasionally board guide dogs for the blind.

The dogs are all very friendly and even those students who come, perhaps, a bit scared of dogs all go home wanting to take them with them. Both Russ and Daphne are non-smokers, but they are happy for students to smoke outdoors.

Daphne loves cooking and it is sometimes unsure whether returning students come back because of her teaching or her food! She can cater for various dietary needs but, sorry, not vegan. She is an active person and loves walking the dogs. Throughout the year, they also sporadically host other student-learners but never of the same nationality as you, so that only English is ever spoken and practised at home. As they have no children living at home this would be a great opportunity for you to practise your English and make a friend.

Russ is now retired, having formerly worked in child education welfare and safeguarding, and therefore, has time to practise his photography and his love of history and reading.

The home

A charming 19th Century semi-detached stone house with a garden. There are 2 spacious, comfortable, double-sized bedrooms available for students, study mates or family, with a shared bathroom. There is free WIFI access and each room has a TV and DVD with numerous DVDs to choose from. A good way to relax in the evenings but still practise a little English. Students’ bedrooms are on the second floor. They are bright and sunny. Bedding and towels are provided for your convenience and if staying longer than a week there are laundry facilities. There is a piano for any musicians.


Edinburgh is a city with a long and very interesting history. You can walk from the house to the city centre in under 30 minutes, or the bus, a few minutes’ walk, will take you there in 10. At the back of the house there is a beautiful private park. Arthur’s Seat is a 10-minute walk and a climb to the top gives amazing views over Edinburgh. There are many attractions – Edinburgh and Craigmillar castles, Roslyn Chapel (of Dan Brown and the Di Vinci code game), The historic Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, The Britannia to name just a few.

And of course, there is Edinburgh’s famous festival in August which brings many performers of different genres to numerous venues.

Local amenities

Golf, Tennis, Swimming, Horse Riding, Sports Centre, Scottish dancing (Ceilidhs), Whiskey tasting

Further afield

Sterling castle, The Kelpies, The Falkirk Wheel, William Wallace Memorial, Tantallion Castle, the fishing villages of North Berwick and Dunbar. Occasionally students are fortunate and are able to visit the highlands with Daphne as she has a cottage there but this is not always possible.

Other details

Wifi available, smokers not accepted, garden.

Check their availability

Interested in learning in this home? Send us a quick little message to find out if they are free for the dates you have in mind!