Caitriona, Macroom, Ireland

Caitriona loves teaching English, which she does part time. She has always been interested in having foreign students stay in her home. She was a training manager of the chartered institute for personal development, has voluntarily taught English to Polish Nationals in the Family resource center and has hosted exchange students from her children’s schools on many occasions. She has a Bachelor's Degree in Business majoring in Human Resources and worked in this sector since 2020 specialising in Employment Law and Training.

Your host

Caitriona

I thoroughly enjoyed the interaction with clients and employees. I feel these skills are pertinent to helping students with their English. I am consultative in my approach to each individual. I always try to make the lessons as enjoyable as possible by including subjects in which the students are interested in. Tom is also a business graduate and has his own business.

Jack & Kate

I am married to Tom, and we have 2 children, Jack (born in 2001) and Kate (born 2004). We also have a little dog called Edie. I have been teaching English in my home since 2017 and it has been a very positive experience for my family. We are a very relaxed family who enjoy having guests in our house. Jack is currently completing his final year in Secondary School and hopes to go to University in September 2020. He likes to swim, socialise and read. Kate is currently completing her 4th year in Secondary School. Like her brother, she likes to swim, socialise, and read. They both enjoy having new people staying in the house, as they are both outgoing and sociable and have made lifelong friends with previous students. We are all nature lovers and our home is surrounded by land where all types of native wildlife can be experienced.

The home

We live in a detached 4 bedroom house with a large garden. Our home is located adjacent to the River Lee allowing us to Fish & Swim right on our doorstep. It is truly a beautiful place to live. We are surrounded by lush farmland and students are welcome to experience farm life. I also love to cook and students are welcome to participate. We aim to give each student a fun time and a warm Irish Welcome whilst improving their English. The student accomodation is a large double ensuite room ensuite. Free Wi fi service throughout the house. The room has a Tv with Netflix and PSP.

Location

Lovely rural area 18 miles from Cork city, 4 miles from Macroom town and 25 miles from Killarney which is a very beautiful town for tourism, surrounded by mountains and lakes. 35 minutes from Cork airport and 35 minutes from the beach. The host family is located in the famous Wild Atlantic Way.

Local amenities

Swimming, surfing, horse riding, fishing, Golf, Tennis, Water Sports, Sport Centre.

Check their availability

Interested in learning in this home? Send them a quick little message to find out if they are free for the dates you have in mind!