Anita, Cizos, France

Anita and her family moved to France from the UK in 2003. They love spending time outdoors, gardening, swimming, walking, cycling and skiing.

Your host

Anita & Mark

I have a TEFL Certificate (Teaching English as a Foreign Language). I run the home? help out in the local school and have been HOSTING students since 2017.

It’s really important that a student feels comfortable, relaxed and has fun, I believe that with this approach, the student can progress quickly. It is wonderful to see the progress a student can make in gaining confidence and progressing in English. Lessons aren’t all about paperwork, I adapt each lesson to the students likes and needs. Lessons are a mix of watching videos, listening, speaking, reading & writing. My husband Mark is a builder. He has bought a vintage tractor and plans to restore it ! We enjoy being outdoors, taking walks, cycling, swimming and listening to music. There is nearly always music on in the house and we often sing and dance with it! We also enjoy cooking, playing cards and board games. Cooking is a very big part of our family life, and trying to eat healthier is very important to us. We like making bread biscuits cakes and jam. One of our particular favorite things to make is fudge & lemon curd, both are traditionally British.

Cerys and Mollie

Our two daughters Cerys (2005) and Mollie (2012), were born in France. Cerys is very artistic and creative. She is always making something new from old clothes, flowers, cards, wood, or anything she can find! Mollie loves to sing, dance, ride her bike and takes horse riding lessons.

They love visiting the mountains in the winter where we ski and enjoy sliding down toboggans. We have been helping refugees by sending aid to Syria. We sent 5 containers so far and plan to do more by collecting donations, raising money and sending more containers. Phone & Internet connection is limited to 2 hours a day.  The idea is to interact, play board games, cards, watch movies, cook and not spend much time on the internet or mobile phone. We enjoy good movies & have a great movie package. Life is too short to be serious, let your hair down and have some fun. You only live once. 🙂

The home

The student’s accommodation is comfortable with bunk beds, plenty of space to study with shared use of the family bathroom. There is also a separate shower and 2 toilets.

Our house is an almost completely restored 3-bedroom farmhouse with swimming pool (for the summer). Set alone on 10 acres of land with a large enclosed garden and views of the Pyrenees.

Location

We are very lucky to be living in such beautiful countryside with lovely views of the Pyrenees. Easy access to the mountains if you wish to hike/ski. We love to ski & can be on the slopes, ready to go in 1.5 hours. The shops, bars, restaurants, hairdressers, banks, pharmacy, etc. are in Castelnau Magnoac which is around 4 km away. A cinema, shop and restaurant can be found only 400 m away. There are weekly local markets at Trie Sur Baise, Castelnau Magnoac, Boulonge Sur Gesse and Lannemezan.

Things to do

The historical town of Auch is about 40 mns away. Tarbes airport is 45 mns. and Toulouse airport is 70 mns. Lannemezan train station is 15 mns away. There is a golf course within a 15 mns drive, horse riding and tennis are available in the village. Two beautiful lakes can be found 15 mns away, one of them has a man-made beach where you can swim with many water sports available (pedalos, canoes and paddle boarding). 50 mns from the foothills of the Pyrenees, at Val Louron you can para-glide off the mountain, walk and picnic at a lake. A spa, and white water rafting is also available in the summer. Lots of mountain walks & cycling routes. Skiing in St Lary or Val Louron is just 1 hr away.

Local amenities

Golf, Tennis, Swimming, Horse Riding, Watersports, Hike/Ski, Shops, Bars, Restaurant, Hairdressers, Cinema, Spa

Other details

We have 2 very gentle rescue Labrador dogs Bella & Maya, 2 cats Itchy & Scratchy and 1 chicken. We can offer a safe and comfortable environment which will be particularly suitable for girls (as we have two young girls in the family). Mark smokes only occasionally, in the workshop but smokers are not accepted.

Other languages spoken

French

Check their availability

Interested in learning in this home? Send them a quick little message to find out if they are free for the dates you have in mind!